The MLB Offseason was absolutely chaotic

Brian Achmoody, Staff Writer

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

The MLB Offseason takes place a few weeks after the MLB World Series is over and involves many free agent signings, trades, the MLB Hall of Fame announcements, and a few rule changes. Also The Rule 5 Draft, and the Winter Meetings take place during the MLB Offseason.

The list below show every major signing and trade pickup every MLB team made during the Offseason.

Team: Arizona Diamondbacks Signings: Eduardo Escobar, Merrill Kelly, John Ryan Murphy, Wilmer Flores, and T.J. McFarland. Trade Acquisitions: Luke Weaver, and Carson Kelly.

Team: Atlanta Braves Signings: Brian McCann, and Josh Donaldson. Trades: None

Team: Baltimore Orioles Signings: Alcides Escobar, and Nate Karns. Trades: None

Team: Boston Red Sox Signings: Erasmo Ramirez, and Ryan Weber. Trades: None

Team: Chicago Cubs Signings: Brad Brach, Daniel Descalso, and Kendall Graveman. Trades: None

Team: Chicago White Sox Signings: Jon Jay, Kelvin Herrera, and James McCann. Trade Acquisitions: Alex Colome

Team: Cincinnati Reds Signings: Curt Casali, Zach Duke, Jose Iglesias, Derek Dietrich, and Sonny Gray. Trade Acquisitions: Yasiel Puig, Matt Kemp, Alex Wood, and Tanner Roark.

Team: Cleveland Indians Signings: Tyler Clippard, Hanley Ramirez, and Kevin Plawecki. Trades: None

Team: Colorado Rockies Signings: Mark Reynolds, and Daniel Murphy. Trades: None

Team: Detroit Tigers Signings: Josh Harrison, Jordy Mercer, Gordon Beckham, and Hector Sanchez. Trades: None

Team: Houston Astros Signings: Robinson Chirinos, Michael Brantley, Chris Devenski, and Wade Miley. Trades: None

Team: Kansas City Royals Signings: Billy Hamilton, Chris Owings, Jake Diekman, and Brad Boxberger. Trades: None

Team: Los Angeles Angels Signings: Cody Allen, Trevor Cahill, Matt Harvey, and Justin Bour. Trades: None

Team: Los Angeles Dodgers Signings: Joe Kelly, and A.J. Pollock. Trades: None

Team: Miami Marlins Signings: Pedro Alvarez, and Sergio Romo. Trade Acquisitions: Jorge Alfaro

Team: Milwaukee Brewers Signings: Yasmani Grandal, and Cory Spangenberg. Trade Acquisitions: Bobby Wahl, and Ben Gamel

Team: Minnesota Twins Signings: Ronald Torreyes, C.J. Cron, Nelson Cruz, and Jonathan Schoop. Trades: None

Team New York Mets Signings: Jed Lowrie, Jeurys Familia, and Wilson Ramos. Trade Acquisitions: Robinson Cano, Edwin Diaz.

Team: New York Yankees Signings: DJ Lemahieu, Troy Tulowitzki, and Adam Ottavino. Trade Acquisitions: Justin Paxton

Team: Oakland Athletics Signings: Jurickson Profar, Marco Estrada, Robbie Grossman, Joakim Soria, and Chris Herrmann. Trade Acquisitions: Tanner Anderson

Team: Philadelphia Phillies Signings: Bryce Harper, David Robertson, and Andrew McCutchen. Trade Acquisitions: Jean Segura, Juan Nicasio, and James Pazos.

Team: Pittsburgh Pirates Signings: Lonnie Chisenhall, Melky Cabrera, Francisco Liriano, and Jordan Lyles. Trade Acquisitions: Erik Gonzalez

Team: San Diego Padres Signings: Manny Machado, Adam Warren, Garrett Richards, Aaron Loup, and Ian Kinsler. Trades: None

Team: San Francisco Giants Signings: Pat Venditte, Stephen Vogt, and Yangervis Solarte. Trades: None

Team: Seattle Mariners Signings: Yusei Kikuchi, and Hunter Strickland. Trade Acquisitions: Domingo Santana, Jay Bruce, Anthony Swarzak, Gerson Bautista, Carlos Santana, JP Crawford, and Mallex Smith

Team: St. Louis Cardinals Signings: Andrew Miller, and Chasen Shreve. Trade Acquisitions: Paul Goldschmidt.

Team: Tampa Bay Rays Signings: Charlie Morton, and Avisail Garcia. Trade Acquisitions: Mike Zunino, and Guillermo Heredia.

Team: Texas Rangers Signings: Logan Forsythe, Shelby Miller, Shawn Kelley, and Asdrubal Cabrera.

Team: Toronto Blue Jays Signings: Freddy Galvis, Clay Buchholz, David Phelps, and Matt Shoemaker. Trade Acquisitions: Clayton Richard.

Team: Washington Nationals Signings: Brian Dozier, Jeremy Hellickson, Anibal Sanchez, Matt Adams, and Trevor Rosenthal. Trade Acquisitions: Tanner Rainey.

Also the MLB will have rule changes starting in 2020 which are:

Mound Visits reduced to 5

Commercial Break Length

The winner of the Home Run Derby will receive $1,000,000

A three batter minimum for a pitcher

There will be only one trade deadline

Fans get to vote on the All-Star Game Starting Lineup

No more Pitch Clock

Position Players can no longer pitch in games that don’t go into extra innings, unless if a team is ahead or behind by 8 runs.

The MLB Hall of Fame BBWAA announced that four players will be inducted into the Hall of Fame including, Starting Pitcher Mike Mussina, who pitched for the Baltimore Orioles and the New York Yankees; Designated Hitter Edgar Martinez, who played for the Seattle Mariners for his entire career; Closer Mariano Rivera, who played for the New York Yankees his entire career, and is the first unanimous MLB Hall of Fame inductee ever; and the late Starting Pitcher Roy Halladay who played for the Toronto Blue Jays and the Philadelphia Phillies, and is the only pitcher to throw a No-Hitter* in the MLB Postseason.

The MLB Veterans Committee inducted two players into the Hall of Fame as well, Closer Lee Smith who played for the Chicago Cubs, Boston Red Sox, St. Louis Cardinals, New York Yankees, Baltimore Orioles, Cincinnati Reds, the then California Angels, now known as the Los Angeles Angels, and the Montreal Expos, who relocated and are now known as the Washington Nationals; and Outfielder Harold Baines, who played for the Chicago White Sox, Texas Rangers, Oakland Athletics, Baltimore Orioles, and the Cleveland Indians.